Lena Seikaly – Lovely Changes

Title: Lovely Changes
Year Of Release: 2011
Label: Lena Seikaly
Genre: Jazz / Vocal Jazz
Quality: Mp3 / 320kbps
Total Time: 42:01 min
Total Size: 101 MB

01. Amateur
02. Memento
03. Triste
04. What Was I Supposed To Do
05. The Way You Look Tonight
06. Here Again
07. God Only Knows
08. Can’t Get Out Of This Mood
09. Everytime We Say Goodbye
10. Waltz #1
Given Lena Seikaly’s firm grounding in harmony and composition, it’s no surprise that a musician sharing the bandstand with her once remarked on a harmonic progression she’d written: “Man, those are some lovely changes!” The phrase struck a chord and emerged as the Title of her second recording.
On Seikaly’s new album, her second, there are Lovely Changes in more ways than one. The album presents a constantly shifting harmonic and rhythmic landscape in which familiar jazz classics by Cole Porter, Frank Loesser and Jerome Kern co-exist alongside Seikaly originals and unexpected arrangements of more contemporary songs by Elliot Smith, Brian Wilson and Amie Mann; a touch of 1967 Antonio Carlos Jobim bridges the gap. Seikaly’s cool, classic jazz voice breathes a cohesive beauty into the recording, the release of which she celebrates with a show this Sunday at Blues Alley. Her vocals are complemented by the savvy arrangements and sensitive musicianship that she and her band mates put forward; the group is comprised of Dan Roberts on piano, Tom Baldwin on bass and Dominic Smith on
drums. ~Ken Avis

Error 0

Please type captcha to view link download

View all contributions by

{ 0 comments… add one }

Leave a Comment

Copyright 2016-losslessworld.net