Jimmy Forrest – The Essential Jimmy Forrest (Remastered) (2016)

Artist: Jimmy Forrest
Title: The Essential Jimmy Forrest
Year Of Release: 2016
Label: J. Joes J. Edizioni Musicali
Genre: Jazz
Quality: Mp3/320 kbps
Total Time: 01:21:08
Total Size: 196 Mb
WebSite: Album Preview

1. Soul Street
2. Moonglow
3. Matilda
4. Tuxedo Junction
5. I Love You
6. Rocks in My Bed
7. You Go to My Head
8. Autumn Leaves
9. Experiment in Terror
10. The Moon Was Yellow
11. Most Much
12. What’s New?
13. Soft Winds
14. All the Gin Is Gone
15. That’s All
A fine all-round tenor player, Jimmy Forrest is best-known for recording “Night Train,” a song that he “borrowed” from the last part of Duke Ellington’s “Happy Go Lucky Local.” While in high school in St. Louis, Forrest worked with pianist Eddie Johnson, the legendary Fate Marable, and the Jeter-Pillars Orchestra. In 1938, he went on the road with Don Albert and then was with Jay McShann’s Orchestra (1940-1942). In New York, Forrest played with Andy Kirk (1942-1948) and Duke Ellington (1949) before returning to St. Louis. After recording “Night Train,” Forrest became a popular attraction and recorded a series of jazz-oriented R&B singles. Among his most important later associations were with Harry “Sweets” Edison (1958-1963), Count Basie’s Orchestra (1972-1977), and Al Grey, with whom he co-led a quintet until his death. Forrest recorded for United (reissued by Delmark), Prestige/New Jazz (1960-1962), and Palo Alto (1978).

Download Links Now With Premium Account For Maximum Speed!



View all contributions by

{ 0 comments… add one }

Leave a Comment

Copyright 2016-losslessworld.net