Matthew Barley – Around Britten (2013) [HDTracks]

Title: Around Britten
Year Of Release: 2013
Label: Signum Records
Genre: Classical, Cello
Quality: FLAC (tracks) [24Bit/96kHz]
Total Time: 01:12:29
Total Size: 1,21 GB (d.booklet)

Recorded: Canterbury Cathedral, 30-31 July 2012.
Matthew Barley adds to his reputation as one of the UK’s most innovative and creative performers with the new programme and CD Around Britten – celebrating the centenary of Britten’s birth with a selection of his works, including the Third Cello Suite and pieces by Sir John Tavener and Gavin Bryars. The release coincides with the start of a tour of 100 events taking Britten’s music to a kaleidoscopic variety of venues around the UK, reaching a huge cross section of British society. As well as concerts in conventional concert halls, Matthew will play in galleries, a cafe, a woodland in Devon, a number of cathedrals (including Canterbury), around 12 different National Trust properties and Britten’s library at the Red House in Aldeburgh. The events will be featured across the year in BBC Music Magazine, and one concert will be broadcast on BBC Radio 3.
Benjamin Britten (1913-1976)
Cello Suite No 3 Op 87
1 Movement 1: Introduzione: Lento[2’10]
2 Movement 2: Marcia: Allegro[1’49]
3 Movement 3: Canto: Con moto[1’19]
4 Movement 4: Barcarola: Lento[1’33]
5 Movement 5: Dialogo: Allegretto[1’42]
6 Movement 6: Fuga: Andante espressivo[2’55]
7 Movement 7: Recitativo: Fantastico[1’07]
8 Movement 8: Moto perpetuo: Presto[0’57]
9 Movement 9a: Passacaglia: Lento solenne[4’25]
10 Movement 9b: Passacaglia: Mournful Song[0’33]
11 Movement 9c: Passacaglia: Autumn[0’19]
12 Movement 9d: Passacaglia: Street Song[0’26]
13 Movement 9e: Passacaglia: Depart in peace, with the saints[2’42]
Anonymous – traditional, arr. Benjamin Britten (1913-1976) & Matthew Barley (b1965)
14 Greensleeves[2’06]
15 The Salley Gardens[2’33]
Gavin Bryars (b1943)
Tre Laude Dolce
16 I. [6’26]
17 II. [5’18]
18 III. [5’47]
Benjamin Britten (1913-1976), arr. Matthew Barley (b1965)
19 Since she whom I love hath payd her last debt (No 6 of The Holy Sonnets of John Donne, Op 35)[3’28]
Sir John Tavener (1944-2013)
20 Threnos[7’12]
21 Chant[4’25]
Benjamin Britten (1913-1976), arr. Matthew Barley (b1965)
22 Concord (No 2 of Choral dances from Gloriana, 1954 version)[2’26]
Matthew Barley (b1965)
23 Improvisation[9’52]
Anonymous – traditional, arr. Benjamin Britten (1913-1976) & Matthew Barley (b1965)
24 Oliver Cromwell[0’49]
Matthew Barley – cello

Error 0

Please type captcha to view link download

View all contributions by

{ 0 comments… add one }

Leave a Comment