Royal Crown Revue – Caught In The Act

Title: Caught In The Act
Year Of Release: 1997
Label: Surfdog Records ?
Genre: Jazz / Swing
Quality: Mp3 / 320kbps
Total Time: 54:41 min
Total Size: 123 MB

01. Intro
02. Barflies At The Beach
03. Boogie After Midnight
04. Something’s Gotta Give
05. Honey Child
06. Park’s Place
07. The Mooch
08. Hey Pachuco!
09. Who Dat
10. Mousetrap
11. Datin’ With No Dough
12. Hot Rod
13. Poppity Pop Goes The Motorcycle
The Royal Crown Revue is one hot little band. Here the sextet roars through a set of originals and jump swing standards in a live performance. The band is all swagger and attitude. But while the vocals can tend toward a sing-song sameness of spoken-word rapping, the horns and rhythm section constantly rev things up. On tracks like “Park’s Place” and “The Mooch,” the band really cuts loose, especially the horns. Other highlights include “Barflies at the Beach” and the band’s signature tune, “Hey Pachuco!” which the group performed in the film The Mask. Not as solid as the band’s major-label debut, but enjoyable. ~Ross Boissoneau

Error 0

Please type captcha to view link download

View all contributions by

{ 0 comments… add one }

Leave a Comment