Kenny Wheeler – All the More – 320kbps

Title: All the More
Year Of Release: 1997
Label: Soul Note
Genre: Jazz
Quality: Mp3 / 320kbps
Total Time: 63:03 min
Total Size: 143 MB

01. Phrase One
02. All the More
03. Mark Time
04. Introduction to No Particular Song
05. The Imminent Immigrant
06. Nonetheless
07. Kind of Bill
08. Summer Night
Kenny Wheeler’s gorgeous trumpet anchors these tracks, but also attracting attention here is the understated beauty and subtle adventurousness of John Taylor’s piano. With that kind of combination in his playing, Taylor is a perfect match for Wheeler, who has straddled a few divides in his time. Much of this disc features the ethereal ECM-ish music Wheeler has made his trademark, but some of it harks back to Wheeler’s earlier days as a pillar of the English “free music” scene along with John Stevens, Derek Bailey, Evan Parker, and another refugee from the edge, bassist Dave Holland. On “All the More” Wheeler plays with fire and resorts here and there to some of the expanded techniques that those musicians were and are searching for. Here, of course, such effects are thoroughly integrated into the fabric of conventional jazz form, so that they do not jar but add an emotional fire to the musiTo hear Wheeler’s immense sound in full glory, don’t miss “Summer Night,” where it is washed in the ebbs and flows of Joe LaBarbera’s drums but still comes through sharply, clearly, beautifully. ~ Robert Spencer
Personnel: Kenny Wheeler (trumpet, flugelhorn); John Taylor (piano); Furio Di Castri (bass); Joe La Barbera (drums).

Error 0

Please type captcha to view link download

View all contributions by

{ 0 comments… add one }

Leave a Comment