Trygve Seim – Rumi Songs (2016) [HDTracks]

Artist: Trygve Seim (with Tora Augestad, Frode Haltli & Svante Henryson)
Title: Rumi Songs
Year Of Release: 2016
Label: ECM
Genre: Jazz, Contemporary Jazz, Vocal
Quality: FLAC (tracks) [24Bit/96kHz]
Total Time: 54:29
Total Size: 1,09 GB
WebSite: Album Preview

Norwegian saxophonist Trygve Seim sets the poetry of Jalaluddin Rumi (1207-1273), using the inspired contemporary English-language versions of Coleman Barks and Kabir Helminski as his source texts. Trygve responds both to the musicality of the translations and to Rumi’s gifts as a storyteller and with Rumi Songs seems to have invented a new kind of Lieder with a Nordic-Oriental orientation. The line-up is strikingly unorthodox, with each of the quartet members bringing their own musical personalities to the material. Classical mezzo-soprano Tora Augestad is well-known as the leader of her own ensemble Music For A While, and for her numerous music-theatre collaborations with Christoph Mathaler. She finds an intimate tone to convey Rumi’s thoughts, underlined by the elegant arrangements and the improvisational input of Seim, Haltli and Henryson.
01 – In Your Beauty
02 – Seeing Double
03 – Across The Doorsill
04 – The Guest House
05 – Leaving My Self
06 – When I See Your Face
07 – Like Every Other Day
08 – The Drunk And The Madman
09 – Whirling Rhythms
10 – There Is Some Kiss We Want
Produced by Manfred Eicher. Engineered by Jan Erik Kongshaug.
Trygve Seim – Soprano Saxophone, Tenor Saxophone
Tora Augestad – Vocals
Frode Haltli – Accordion
Svante Henryson – Violoncello

Download Links Now With Premium Account For Maximum Speed!

View all contributions by

{ 0 comments… add one }

Leave a Comment