Syrinx – Tumblers From The Vault (1970-1972) (2016)

Artist: Syrinx
Title: Tumblers From The Vault (1970-1972)
Year Of Release: 2016
Label: RVNG Intl. [RERVNG08]
Genre: Progressive Rock / Progressive Electronic
Quality: FLAC (image+.cue+.log) | Mp3
Total Time: 2CD (02:08:58)
Total Size: 981 MB | 454 MB (Scans)
WebSite: Album Preview

Riding the wave of notice and critical approval that arose from their first album, Syrinx returned to the studio in late 1970 to record a second album. However, after weeks of recording, a fire destroyed the studio, the group’s instruments – including Mills-Cockell’s Moog Mark II – and the master tapes of the recordings for their new album.
Undeterred, and with fundraising support from the Toronto musical community, the group purchased new instruments and pressed on to record the album.
Long Lost Relatives was issued in 1971 on Finkelstein’s True North Label. The album included Mills-Cockell’s Tillicum and the four Stringspace pieces (which, owing to the space restrictions of the LP medium, spanned both sides of the LP), rounded out by three additional Mills-Cockell compositions: Tumblers to the Vault, Better Deaf and Dumb from the First, and Aurora Spinray. Tillicum was also released as a single, and peaked at #38 on the Canadian charts in 1971.
2016: Tumblers from the Vault – the Reissued Recordings
On August 24, 2016, RVNG Intl. announced the release of Tumblers from the Vault, a remastered collection including the entire released repertoire of Syrinx, together with previously-unreleased tracks, including the audio recording of the CBC Music to See performance of Stringspace. Tumblers from the Vault has been offered for pre-order since August 24, 2016, and will be released on October 14, 2016.
CD1 – “Syrinx” (1970) & “Long Lost Relatives” (1971):
“Long Lost Relatives” (1971)
01. Tumblers To The Vault [03:33.627]
02. Syren [06:08.640]
03. December Angel [08:56.667]
04. Ibistix [08:06.040]
05. Field Hymn (Epilogue) [02:53.987]
06. Tillicum [01:51.400]
07. Better Deaf And Dumb From The First [02:54.173]
08. Aurora Spinray [03:30.613]
“Syrinx” (1970)
09. Melina’s Torch [02:58.907]
10. Journey Tree [04:50.893]
11. Field Hymn [01:49.613]
12. Chant For Your Dragon King [10:24.560]
13. Hollywood Dream Trip [05:13.747]
14. Father Of Light [02:16.787]
15. Appalosa-Pegasus [11:34.200]
John Mills-Cockell — keyboards, synthesizers
Douglas Pringle — electric saxophones, bongos (1–8), bells (1–8), guiro (1–8)
Alan Wells — gongs, congas (1–8), timpani (1–8), tambourine (1–8), hand drums (9–15)
Malcolm Tomlinson (1–8) — drums, vocals (7)
Toronto Repertory Orchestra (1–8)
CD2 – Long Lost Relics (bonus CD):
01. Tillicum {single mix} [01:50.853]
02. Melina’s Torch {solo} [09:46.520]
03. Better Deaf And Dumb From The First {alternate/vocal} [03:41.587]
04. December Angel {demo} [10:29.373]
05. Stringspace Live: Syren [07:05.280]
06. Stringspace Live: December Angel [08:20.320]
07. Stringspace Live: Ibistix [07:55.800]
08. Stringspace Live: Field Hymn (Epilogue) [02:45.453]


Download Links Now With Premium Account For Maximum Speed!

View all contributions by

{ 0 comments… add one }

Leave a Comment