Sheena Easton – Take My Time (1981) [1983, Japan]

Artist: Sheena Easton
Title: Take My Time
Year Of Release: 1983 (1981)
Label: Toshiba EMI Ltd. (Japan)
Genre: Pop/Rock, Vocal
Quality: FLAC (img.+.cue+.log) | MP3 320kbps
Total Time: 46:09
Total Size: 555,70 | 150,94 Mb (Full Scans)
WebSite: Album Preview

“Take My Time” is the debut album by UK pop singer Sheena Easton. Released in January 1981, the album reached #17 in the UK and earned her a Gold Disc. Two months later, a ten track version of the album was released in the USA and Canada as “Sheena Easton”. The album went Gold in the USA and Platinum in Canada. After becoming suddenly famous due to her appearance on a television documentary in 1980 and with the hits “9 To 5” (which went gold) and “Modern Girl”, Easton began recording her debut album with producer Christopher Neil. The style of the album was a combination of pure pop (“Take My Time” and “Voice on the Radio”) and sentimental ballads (“When He Shines” and “No-One Ever Knows”). “Prisoner” is a cover of a Sue Saad and the Next song released earlier in 1980. The album charted in February 1981, just as Easton was finding fame in the US when “9 to 5” (reTitled “Morning Train (Nine to Five)” to avoid confusion with a record by Dolly Parton called “9 To 5”) took her to #1 in the charts there. In the UK, the album met with favourable response by reaching #17 and spent 19 weeks on the charts. In the US, it was released two months later and also made the top 30. By May 1981, three more singles were released from the collection, namely; “One Man Woman”, “Take My Time” and “When He Shines”. The latter being a song she had performed at the Royal Variety Performance in November 1980, and was left off the US version of the album (to be later included on her second album). With four of the singles reaching the top 20 in the UK (the Title track reached a lower #44), Easton became the first female Artist to score five top 50 singles hits from an album. The album’s opening track, “Don’t Send Flowers” had recently been released as a single by British band Sailor, but had been unsuccessful. In the US, the album was simply Titled Sheena Easton and included only two singles (“Morning Train“ and “Modern Girl”) before Easton was to chart highly with a new song, the James Bond theme, “For Your Eyes Only”; however “When He Shines” was released as a single from Sheena’s second US album, Easton quickly became a staple on Adult Contemporary radio, where “Morning Train” also hit #1 and “Modern Girl” reached the top 10, both in 1981. Producer Christopher Neil continued to work with Easton and produced her following two albums in a similar vein, before Easton decided to leave behind the pure-pop image she had gained.
Release of the album: 1981, January, 18 [LP EMI, Cat.# EMC 3354, UK]
Release of this CD: 1983 [CD Toshiba EMI Ltd. (Japan), Cat.# CP35-3058 / Barcode: none]
p 1981 except *p 1980 EMI Records, Inc.
Original sound recording made by EMI Records Ltd.
Manufactured by Toshiba EMI Ltd. in Japan
Arranged By [Strings] – David Cullen
Backing Vocals – Alan Carvell, Chris Neil, Frank Musker, Kim Goody, Peter Vale, Sharon Cambell
Bass – Andy Brown
Design – Peter Shepherd
Design [Additional], Layout [Additional] – Jim @ Wolf Graphics
Drums – Peter Van Hooke
Engineer – Nick Ryan
Engineer [Assistant, London] – Brett Kennedy, Simon Hurrell
Engineer [Assistant, Monsterrat] – Tony George
Guitar – Phil Palmer
Keyboards – Billy Lyall, David Cullen, Derek Austin, Ian Lynne, Peter Vale
Percussion – Frank Ricotti
Photography By – Brian Aris
Producer – Christopher Neil
Saxophone – Tony Hall
01. “Don’t Send Flowers” (02:59)
(Phil Pickett)
02. “Cry” (03:32)
(Frank Musker, Garth Murphy)
03. “Take My Time” (02:41)
(Paul Bliss, Phil Palmer)
04. “When He Shines” (03:58)
(Dominic Bugatti, Peter Vale)
05. “One Man Woman”* (03:07)
(Mike Leeson, Peter Vale)
06. “Prisoner” (03:34)
(D.B. Cooper, James Lance, Tony Riparetti)
07. “Moody (My Love)” (02:05)
(Sheena Easton, Christopher Neil)
08. “9 To 5 (Morning Train)”* (03:19)
(Florrie Palmer)
09. “So Much In Love” (03:05)
(Dominic Bugatti, Frank Musker)
10. “Voice On The Radio” (03:22)
(Florrie Palmer, Peter Vale)
11. “Calm Before The Storm” (03:32)
(Christopher Neil, Peter Vale)
12. “Modern Girl”* (03:41)
(Dominic Bugatti, Frank Musker)
13. “No One Ever Knows” (03:48)
(Mike Leeson, Peter Vale)
14. “Summer’s Over” (03:26)
(Florrie Palmer, Christopher Neil)

Download Links Now With Premium Account For Maximum Speed!

View all contributions by

{ 0 comments… add one }

Leave a Comment