Duke Ellington & His Orchestra – Rotterdam 1969 (2016)

Artist: Duke Ellington & His Orchestra
Title: Rotterdam 1969
Year Of Release: 2016
Label: Storyville Records [101 8440]
Genre: Jazz / Big Band / Progressive Jazz
Quality: FLAC (tracks+.cue,log) | Mp3
Total Time: 01:19:10
Total Size: 496 MB | 196 MB (Scans)
WebSite: Album Preview

Duke Ellington’s status as a legend is well-merited. This new release presents the star and his whole orchestra in full vigor at a 1969 Rotterdam concert.
Duke Ellington & His Orchestra toured Europe in November 1969, a time when Duke was still at the top of his powers. It is a pleasure to be able to issue the whole of an excellent concert recorded in De Doelen Concert Hall in Rotterdam—a venue famous for its splendid acoustics. The ambience is remarkable on this live recording: The audience is audibly enthusiastic and these high spirits influence the band: Duke Ellington and the orchestra gave two concerts on November 7th, and even though this is the second one, the musicians sound nothing but lively and fresh.
01 – Take The A Train (theme) – C Jam Blues
02 – Kinda Dukish – Rockin’ In Rhythm
03 – Take The A Train
04 – Up Jump
05 – La Plus Belle Africaine
06 – Come Off The Veldt
07 – El Gato
08 – Black Butterfly
09 – Things Ain’t What They Used To Be
10 – Don’t Get Around Much Anymore
11 – Medley no. 1
12 – Medley no. 2
13 – Satin Doll
14 – R.T.M
15 – In Triplicate Into Satin Doll
Duke Ellington (p), Cat Anderson (tp), Cootie Williams (tp), Ambrose Jackson (tp), Mercer Ellington (tp), Nelson Williams (tp), Benny Bailey (tp), Lawrence Brown (tb), Chuck Connors (tb), Russel Procope (as,cl), Johnny Hodges (as), Norris Turney (as,ts,cl,fl), Harold Ashby (ts, cl), Paul Gonsalves (ts), Harry Carney (bar,cl,b-cl), Victor Gaskin (b), Rufus Jones (d), Tony Watkins (vcl).

Download Links Now With Premium Account For Maximum Speed!







View all contributions by

{ 0 comments… add one }

Leave a Comment

Copyright 2016-losslessworld.net