Bronski Beat – The Age Of Consent (1984) [1996, Remastered Reissue]

Title: The Age Of Consent
Year Of Release: 1996 (1984-10-15)
Label: London Records / Warner Music (EU)
Genre: Electronic, New Wave, Synth-Pop, Hi-NRG
Quality: FLAC (tracks+.cue+.log) | MP3 320kbps
Total Time: 01:19:41
Total Size: 590,29 | 248,69 Mb (Full Scans)

To say The Age of Consent is a great album of dance-oriented synth-pop music is to sell it extremely short; this is simply a great album, period. Jimmy Somerville’s soaring tenor may take some getting used to, but the songs, many of them dealing with homophobia and alienation (none more eloquently than “Smalltown Boy”), are compelling vignettes about the vagaries of life as a gay man. Cynics predisposed to dismissing entire genres of music based on trendiness or a limited appeal (“dance music is for dancing, not listening”) miss the point in lumping this in with more mindless forays into techno or neo-disco. As the Pet Shop Boys (the world’s greatest disco band) proved a few years later, you can have substantive content and wrap it up in a compelling, visceral, dance-oriented package. Few bands understood this better, or earlier, than Bronski Beat.
~Review by John Dougan~
Release of the album: 1984, October, 15 [LP Forbidden Fruit, Cat.# BITLP 1, 820 171-1, UK]
Release of this CD: 2000, February (Re-Release of 1996′ Edition) [CD London Records / Warner Music (EU), Cat.# 3984 28195-2 / UPC: 639842819527]
Tracks 1, 8, 12-14, 16 (p) 1985 London Records Ltd.
2-7, 9-11 (p) 1984 London Records Ltd. 15 (p) 1994 Panic ATC
This Compilation (p)(c) 1996 London Records 90 Ltd.
Made in the Germany by Warner Music Manufacturing Europe.
Notes: Digitally Re-mastered by Roger Wake
Cover sticker: “Warner Platinum Specials”.
Tracks 10 & 11 were commonly known as the “I Feel Love / Johnny Remember Me” medley, and the art incorrectly lists the length as 8:02 (for 10).
Composed By – Somerville (tracks: 1, 3-9, 12-16), Cole (tracks: 1, 3-9, 12-16), Bronski (tracks: 1, 3-9, 12-16)
Coordinator – Mike Gill
Design – PCR
Liner Notes – Richard Smith
Producer – Mike Thorne
Remastered By [Digitally Re-mastered] – Roger Wake
01. Why? (04:05)
02. Ain’t Necessarily So (04:43)
03. Screaming (04:16)
04. No More War (04:01)
05. Love And Money (05:12)
06. Smalltown Boy (05:03)
07. Heatwave (02:40)
08. Junk (04:19)
09. Need A Man Blues (04:20)
10. I Feel Love (06:01)
Extra Tracks:
11. I Feel Love (Medley with Marc Almond) (08:21)
12. Run From Love (Re-mix from ‘Hundreds And Thousands’) (08:16)
13. Hard Rain (Re-mix from ‘Hundreds And Thousands’) (07:57)
14. Memories (02:57)
15. Puit D’Amour (01:43)
16. Heatwave (Re-mix from ‘Hundreds And Thousands’) (05:46)

Please type captcha to view link download

View all contributions by

{ 0 comments… add one }

Leave a Comment