Bobby “Blue” Bland – Further On Up The Road: The Duke Recordings 1955-1962 (2016)

Artist: Bobby “Blue” Bland
Title: Further On Up The Road: The Duke Recordings 1955-1962
Year Of Release: 2016 (2015)
Label: Southern Routes [SR-3002]
Genre: Blues, R&B, Soul, Soul-Blues
Quality: FLAC (tracks+.cue,log,scans)
Total Time: 2CD (02:28:51)
Total Size: 640 MB
WebSite: Album Preview

There’s nobody like Bobby Blue Bland on Duke Records – especially during the early years that are featured on this collection! Bland came out of Memphis with a very unique, really amazing sound right from the start – an approach to blues that was a lot more sophisticated than most of his contemporaries, even those on the LA scene – with lots of jazz in his phrasing, and his backings as well – and this sublime vocal approach that often had Bobby growling in a way that seemed to come from deep down in the depths of his soul, but never in any sort of gimmicky sort of style. Bland was always the perfect balance of cool, class, and outright blues power – and that was never more true than on these sides.
2CD set features a whopping 57 tracks in all – with Titles that include “It’s My Life Baby”, “Honey Bee”, “I’m Not Ashamed”, “Is It Real”, “I Can’t Put You Down Baby”, “Don’t Want No Woman”, “Loan Me A Helping Hand”, “Bobby’s Blues”, “You’ve Got Bad Intentions”, “I’ll Take Care Of You”, “Cry Cry Cry”, “You’re Worth It All”, “That’s The Way Love Is”, “Call On Me”, “Blue Moon”, “I’ve Just Got To Forget You”, and “How Does A Cheatin Woman Feel”.
01. It’s My Life Baby
02. Lost Lovers Blues
03. Honey Bee
04. Time Out
05. A Million Miles From Nowhere
06. You Or None
07. I Woke Up Screaming
08. I Can’t Put You Down Baby
09. You’ve Got Bad Intentions
10. I Don’t Believe
11. I Learned My Lesson
12. Don’t Want No Woman
13. I Smell Trouble
14. Sometime Tomorrow
15. Farther On Up The Road
16. Teach Me (How To Love You)
17. Bobby’s Blues
18. Loan Me A Helping Hand
19. You Got Me (Where You Want Me)
20. Last Night
21. Little Boy Blue
22. You Did Me Wrong
23. I Lost Sight Of The World
24. I’m Not Ashamed
25. Wishing Well
26. Is It Real?
27. That’s Why
28. Hold Me Tenderly
29. Someday
01. I’ll Take Care Of You
02. Cry, Cry, Cry
03. Lead Me On
04. I’ve Been Wrong So Long
05. I Pity The Fool
06. Close To You
07. Two Steps From The Blues
08. Don’t Cry No More
09. How Does A Cheatin’ Woman Feel
10. St. James Infirmary
11. I’ve Just Got To Forget You
12. Jelly Jelly Jelly
13. Ain’t That Lovin’ You
14. You’re The One (That I Adore)
15. Who Will The Next Fool Be
16. Blue Moon
17. Blues In The Night
18. Twistin’ Up The Road
19. Stormy Monday Blues
20. Turn On Your Love Light
21. Your Friends
22. Yield Not To Temptation
23. You’re Worth It All
24. No Sweeter Girl
25. The Feeling Is Gone
26. 36-22-36
27. Call On Me
28. That’s The Way Love Is

Download Links Now With Premium Account For Maximum Speed!

View all contributions by

{ 0 comments… add one }

Leave a Comment