Starpoint – Hot To The Touch (1988)

Artist: Starpoint
Title: Hot To The Touch
Year Of Release: 1988
Label: Elektra / Asylum Records (USA)
Genre: R&B, Pop/Rock, Electronic
Quality: FLAC (img.+.cue+.log) | MP3 320kbps
Total Time: 57:09
Total Size: 490,88 | 159,38 Mb (Full Scans)
WebSite: Album Preview

Starpoint was an American R&B sextet from Maryland that began recording in the 1980s, releasing a string of solid albums first on the Casablanca sub Label “Chocolate City”, and later on Elektra. Their earlier albums, especially 1980’s “Keep on It” were more funk than r & b, but vocalist Renee Diggs brought the r & b elements to the forefront with her powerful vocals which had both presence and sophistication, coupled with near perfect pitch and very pleasing tone. When the band later signed with Elektra, their sound veered more on the pop side of r & b, but the funk elements were still there. At Elektra, their 1985 LP “Restless” yielded their sole top 40 single, “Object of my Desire”, and the r & b/urban singles “Restless”, & “What you’ve been Missin'”. The non-single tracks (as always) were just as strong, with “Emotions” & “One more Night” being the standouts, in addition to a song that had a lot of pop potential, “See the Light”. In 1987, their LP “Sensational” yielded another top 40 pop hit, “He wants my Body”. The remainder of this album was also quite solid. Starpoint’s producers over the years included Lionel Job, Keith Diamond, Bernard Edwards, Teddy Riley, & others.
Release of this album: 1988 [LP Elektra, Cat.# 60810-1, USA]
Release of this CD: 1988 [CD Elektra / Asylum Records (USA), Cat.# 9 60810-2 / UPC: 075596081023]
Note: The last 3 tracks are bonus tracks for CD.
Elektra / Asylum Records, a Division of Warner Communications Inc.
p, c 1988 Elektra / Asylum Records for the United States and WEA International Inc. for the world outside of the U.S.A.
Printed in U.S.A.
Art Direction – Carol Bobolts
Backing Vocals – Ernesto “Mr. Music” Phillips, George Phillips, Kayode Adeyemo, Orlando Phillips, Renee Diggs
Bass Guitar, Keyboards [Bass] – Orlando Phillips
Drum Programming – Jimmy Bralower (tracks: 1, 8, 9)
Drums – Gregory Phillips
Engineer [Assistant] – George Karras, Matt Hathaway
Engineer [Mixing] – Acar Key, Bob Rosa
Engineer [Recording] – Acar Key, Bill Plummer, Bob Rosa
Executive-Producer – Lionel Job
Guitar – Ernesto “Mr. Music” Phillips
Keyboards – Ernesto “Mr. Music” Phillips, George Phillips, Jeff Bova (tracks: 1, 8, 9), Thor Baldursson (tracks: 2 to 4, 7)
Lead Vocals – Ernesto “Mr. Music” Phillips, George Phillips, Renee Diggs
Management – Lionel Job Inc.
Mastered By – Ted Jensen
Mixed By – Bernard Edwards (tracks: 1, 3, 8, 9), Bob Rosa, Lionel Job (tracks: 1, 2, 4, 7)
Photography By – Timothy White
Producer – Bernard Edwards (tracks: 1, 3, 8, 9), Ernesto “Mr. Music” Phillips (tracks: 5, 6), Lionel Job (tracks: 2, 4, 7), Starpoint (tracks: 5, 6)
Programmed By – Jeff Bova (tracks: 1, 8, 9), Thor Baldursson (tracks: 2 to 4, 7)
01. “Fresh Start” (04:38)
(Ernesto “Mr. Music” Phillips)
02. “One Step Closer To Your Love” (04:33)
(Jon Bendich, Paul Chiten)
03. “Tough Act To Follow” (04:42)
(Ernesto “Mr. Music” Phillips, Renee Diggs)
04. “Say You Will” (04:30)
(Claytoven Richardson, Jon Bendich)
05. “Hot To The Touch” (05:07)
(Ernesto “Mr. Music” Phillips)
06. “Swept Away” (04:43)
(Ernesto “Mr. Music” Phillips, Renee Diggs)
07. “After All Is Said And Done” (04:13)
(Jon Bendich, Thor Baldursson)
08. “Heart Attack” (04:00)
(Ernesto “Mr. Music” Phillips, Kayode Adeyemo)
09. “Park It” (04:05)
(Ernesto “Mr. Music” Phillips, Renee Diggs)
Bonus Tracks:
10. “Fresh Start (Extended Version)” (03:20)
(Ernesto “Mr. Music” Phillips)
11. “One Step Closer To Your Love (Extended Version)” (03:11)
(Jon Bendich, Paul Chiten)
12. “Say You Will (Extended Version)” (05:16)
(Claytoven Richardson, Jon Bendich)

Download Links Now With Premium Account For Maximum Speed!

View all contributions by

{ 0 comments… add one }

Leave a Comment