Mark ‘Mississippi Slide’ Jeghers – The Bluez Projekt (2016)

Title: The Bluez Projekt
Year Of Release: 2016
Label: Self Released
Genre: Slide Guitar Blues, Blues Rock
Quality: 320 kbps
Total Time: 76:36
Total Size: 181 MB

1. Sadie (6:22)
2. Down In The Bottom (4:59)
3. Goin’ Down South (4:48)
4. Bromophenol Blues (6:13)
5. Terraplane Blues (2:40)
6. Baby What You Want Me To Do (4:03)
7. Stormy Monday (5:21)
8. Slidin’ Delta (4:21)
9. Stink Butt Doggy Blues (5:32)
10. Have You Ever Been Mistreated (5:12)
11. Walkin’ Blues (1:59)
12. Rats ‘n’ Roaches (5:52)
13. Yellow Dog (6:29)
14. Stack-O-Lee (5:14)
15. If I Leave This World Tomorrow – When I Get Home (Live) (7:24)
I realized ten years ago, when I started recording music in earnest, that I wanted to make a solo blues album. One of my aspirations was to leave behind a really good body of work (musically) before my life was done. A really good solo blues CD was one way to advance that goal. Working title: “The Bluez Projekt”. So that is what I set out to do … ten years ago.
Why did it take so long? Several reasons really. I was a perfectionist. I was also a procrastinator. I also got very busy with my Christian Blues band, “Crimson Blues”. And it didn’t help when I kept getting new ideas for songs I wanted to include.
I ended up consolidating all my Classic Blues favorites on this album, “The Bluez Projekt”, and all my Gospel Blues songs were rolled into another CD, “Slide Ahead”. So this CD includes songs from all the blues masters I love: R.L. Burnside, Jimmy Reed, T. Bone Walker, Willie Dixon, Robert Johnson, and more. It also includes original tunes of mine, some of which are rather experimental; I think you’ll find them interesting.
I strive to combine the old with the new – applying a modern rocked up sound to timeless retro blues tunes, all the time trying to preserve the swampy groove that made these songs special in the first place all those decades ago.
As far back as the 80s, I wanted to have a recording studio, but it was far too costly. Such a studio would have been limited, and my musical goals were unfocused back then, so the results would have disappointed me.
Then, about 10 years ago, everything changed. My passion for blues gave me musical focus. Recording could be done with affordable computers, and with far better sounding results. It was the right time in my life; it was the God-given breakthrough that I needed. This CD is one of the results of that breakthrough. I hope you dig it. ~Mark ‘Mississippi Slide’ Jeghers
My Blog
For requests/re-ups, please send me private message.

Error 0

Please type captcha to view link download

View all contributions by

{ 0 comments… add one }

Leave a Comment