Marc Broussard – S.O.S. 2: Save Our Soul: Soul on a Mission (2016)

Title: S.O.S. 2: Save Our Soul: Soul on a Mission
Year Of Release: 2016
Label: G-Man Touring Inc
Genre: R&B/Soul, Singer/Songwriter
Quality: mp3 320 kbps
Total Time: 00:41:40
Total Size: 102 mb

01. Cry to Me
02. Do Right Woman
03. Baby Workout
04. Twistin’ the Night Away
05. These Arms of Mine (feat. Huey Lewis)
06. What Becomes of the Brokenhearted
07. I Was Made to Love Her
08. In the Midnight Hour (feat. J.J. Grey)
09. Hold on, I’m Comin’
10. It’s Your Thing
11. Fool for Your Love
12. Cry to Me (Acoustic)
13. Sunday Kind of Love
14. Every Tear
It might have come out in 2007, but S.O.S.: Save Our Soul is a record very much grounded in the soul music of the 1960s and 1970s, both in material and sound. To begin with, all but one of the songs is a cover of a ’60s or ’70s soul tune. The arrangements have a very vintage sound as well, singer Marc Broussard and multi-instrumentalist/background singer Calvin Turner being the only constant factors in a rotating cast of players. Give Broussard credit for not opting, for the most part, for overdone standards; there are covers of a few big hits here (Marvin Gaye’s “Inner City Blues [Make Me Wanna Holler],” the Staple Singers’ “Respect Yourself,” the Pointer Sisters’ “Yes We Can, Can”), but also interpretations of lesser-known songs associated with Stevie Wonder, Bobby Womack, Rance Allen, Al Green, and Blood, Sweat & Tears. On its own terms, it’s an OK record; Broussard’s a good (if not too distinctive) singer, and the musical grooves are solid. If you made a mixtape of the originals, though, it would blow this out of the water, making this an inessential tribute to vintage soul that’s rather pointless except as a showcase of Broussard’s skill in carrying on the tradition. [This version of S.O.S.: Save Our Soul includes the bonus track “Kissing My Love.”]
The son of Boogie Kings guitarist (and Louisiana Hall of Fame member) Ted Broussard, singer/songwriter Marc Broussard was seemingly destined for a life as a music man. His upbringing in Lafayette, Louisiana, instilled in him an affinity for R&B alongside the Cajun trappings of southern Louisiana. Drawing vocal and stylistic influence from Otis Redding and Brian McKnight while bearing the preternaturally gruff vocals of John Hiatt and Dr. John, Broussard was barely 20 at the time of his first album’s release. Momentary Setback appeared to encouraging reviews on the independent Ripley Records label in September 2002. Soon afterwards, the young musician inked a deal with Island Def Jam. With Island’s support, doors began to open for Broussard. “Just Like That,” a track from the Momentary Setback album, was culled for inclusion in the 2003 Lost and Found, Vol. 1 compilation alongside such Americana artists as Ryan Adams and the Jayhawks; that same year, Broussard also appeared on a Bruce Springsteen tribute album, Light of Day, with the track “Back in Your Arms.” He spent the autumn of 2003 on the road, where he served as opening act for Dave Matthews Band, Maroon 5, and fellow singer/songwriter Gavin DeGraw. Carencro, a sophomore album named after Broussard’s hometown, was issued by Island Records in 2004, and he made the jump from Island to Atlantic Records four years later for the release of Keep Coming Back. He became a road dog after the album’s release, opening for and sharing stages with everyone from Maroon 5 and the Dave Matthews Band to Willie Nelson, O.A.R., and Bonnie Raitt. In March of 2011, two songs — “Lucky” and “Only Everything” — were issued for digital as a precursor to his self-titled, Jamie Kenney-produced album that appeared in July that also signaled his return to Vanguard.
MP3 :: ??????? MP3

Error 0

Please type captcha to view link download

View all contributions by

{ 0 comments… add one }

Leave a Comment