Allen Toussaint – Songbook (Deluxe Edition) (2013)

Artist: Allen Toussaint
Title: Songbook (Deluxe Edition)
Year Of Release: 2013
Label: Rounder Records
Genre: New Orleans R&B/Blues, Southern Soul
Quality: 320 kbps
Total Time: 78:36
Total Size: 182 MB
WebSite: Album Preview

01. Introduction ( 0:54)
02. It’s Raining ( 3:57)
03. Lipstick Traces ( 2:05)
04. Introduction to Brickyard Blues ( 0:39)
05. Brickyard Blues ( 3:29)
06. With You In Mind ( 3:31)
07. Who s Gonna Help Brother Get Further ( 4:10)
08. Sweet Touch of Love ( 1:58)
09. Holy Cow ( 3:02)
10. Introduction to Get Out Of My Life, Woman ( 0:12)
11. Get Out Of My Life, Woman ( 3:01)
12. Freedom for the Stallion ( 4:11)
13. St. James Infirmary ( 2:23)
14. Introduction to Shrimp Po-Boy, Dressed ( 0:12)
15. Shrimp Po-Boy, Dressed ( 3:17)
16. Soul Sister ( 2:41)
17. All These Things ( 3:42)
18. We Are America/Yes We Can ( 4:06)
19. The Optimism Blues ( 2:51)
20. Old Records ( 3:38)
21. Certain Girl Medley: Certain Girl/Mother-in-Law/Fortune Teller/Working In The Coal Mine ( 3:15)
22. It s A New Orleans Thing ( 3:07)
23. I Could Eat Crawfish Everyday ( 2:37)
24. There s No Place Like New York ( 2:26)
25. Southern Nights (13:00)
Allen Toussaint experienced a late-career revival sparked, ironically enough, by the devastation of Hurricane Katrina in 2005. He had to leave his hometown New Orleans after the hurricane, relocating to New York City where he started to play regular gigs at Joe’s Pub and, soon enough, he cut The River in Reverse with Elvis Costello. That 2006 album propelled Toussaint toward a greater audience, leading to more headlining concerts, two of which are chronicled on Rounder’s 2013 release Songbook. Recorded in 2009 at Joe’s Pub, Songbook features nothing more than Toussaint alone at a piano running through songs he’s written over the decades. He sprinkles in a New Orleans standard here and there — there’s an excellent rendition of “St. James Infirmary” — but the spotlight is on his peerless originals, songs that are standards in their own right: “Lipstick Traces (On a Cigarette),” “Holy Cow,” “Get Out of My Life, Woman,” “Yes We Can,” a medley of “A Certain Girl/Mother-in-Law/Fortune Teller,” “Southern Nights.” Toussaint’s voice sounds smooth and silky — he in no way seems as if he’s in his seventies — and his piano is similarly nimble as it glides from signature New Orleans stride and boogie to sophisticated, elegiac chords. Perhaps this album packs no revelations — there are no rearrangements, nothing unexpected in the songs — but as an elegant summation of strengths, this Songbook is mighty attractive.
My Blog
For requests/re-ups, please send me private message.

Download Links Now With Premium Account For Maximum Speed!

View all contributions by

{ 0 comments… add one }

Leave a Comment