Adam Rafferty – Play Pretty for the People (2016)

Artist: Adam Rafferty
Title: Play Pretty for the People
Year Of Release: 2016
Label: Adam Rafferty
Genre: Jazz, Instrumental/Acoustic
Quality: mp3 320 kbps
Total Time: 00:49:20
Total Size: 113 mb
WebSite: Album Preview

01. Imagine
02. The Hippie Dance
03. Affirmatiion
04. Killing Me Softly
05. Super Freak
06. Yesterday
07. Storm Wind
08. But on the Other Hand Baby
09. Mas Que Nada
10. Shelter Island
11. Misty
12. In My Life
13. Brazil
14. Summertime
Adam Rafferty’s guitar style is deeply rooted in the bebop tradition, reflecting years of study with Mike Longo, Dizzy Gillespie’s longtime pianist. He is also steeped in the organ trio style of players such as Wes Montgomery, George Benson, and Pat Martino, in which rhythmic feel and bluesy finesse count every bit as much as technique and theoretical knowledge. After getting his start with rock and funk bands, Rafferty worked toward a B.F.A. at the State University of New York in Purchase, studying classical guitar. However, his private studies with Longo pushed him deeper into the jazz world. In 1991, he lined up two Harlem gigs, one in the organ trio of Jimmy “Preacher” Robbins, the other in the Tippy Larkin Quintet. He also racked up experience working with Lou Donaldson, Frank Wess, Benny Golson, the Dizzy Gillespie Big Band, and the Mike Longo Big Band. Rafferty performs with his own trio throughout the United States and Europe. His debut CD, First Impressions, featured the Mike Longo Trio and was released on Longo’s Consolidated Artists Label in 1993. The follow-up, Blood, Sweat & Bebop, appeared in 1998 and Kush appeared three years later.

Download Links Now With Premium Account For Maximum Speed!

View all contributions by

{ 0 comments… add one }

Leave a Comment